Books

The Hardest Question a Reader is Asked….

Everyone in my circle knows I’m a reader. They all know that at any given moment there is a book in my purse and most likely one in my car as well. 

This often leads to the one question that is so hard for me to answer. What is your favorite book? I can’t name just one, so I’ve chosen three.

My third favorite book is a book most everyone loves. It’s got all you want as a young reader, friendship, adventures, and magic. Granted, I first read Harry Potter as an adult, but the magical world sank deep into my soul, thus earning a place in my top three.  

Number two on my list came to me in high school. Most every book I had to read in school, I hated. They were mostly boring and way below what held my interest.  Then one day my English teacher handed me a copy of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, and I fell in love. I couldn’t get enough of this book. I believe I read it three times that semester alone. 

Finally, my all time favorite book is A Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks. I can’t help it but this book speaks to me like no other has. The first time I read this I was in the eighth or ninth grade and I related to it on many levels. I was like the main character, Jamie. I was nerdy, didn’t fit in and read a lot. Also, my mom was fighting cancer at the time and the book focused a lot on cancer. 

I have read hundreds of books since first reading these three and these consistently come to mind every time I’m asked “what’s your favorite book?”

Leave a Reply

