Books

Caraval……(spoiler free review)

Hello everyone, and happy Sunday!  Today I am going to be giving a spoiler free review of 27883214

Caraval, by Stehanie Garber!

 

This story follow two sisters trying to escape their father’s abusive hand and harsh words. Scarlett, our main character, is arranged to marry, sight unseen, a man of her father’s choosing. Since she was a young girl, she has always dreamed of going to the Caraval show. She writes to the Master Legend and earns her and her sister, Tella, tickets to the event.

Caraval is an interactive game where the players have to solve a series of clues to get to the end and win the yearly prize. This year, Scarlett is surprised to find that her sister is part of the game and she has to play along to find her.

With the help of a seemingly wayward sailor, Julian, Scarlett plays the game and fights to the finish to help save her sister.

 

My thoughts….

I finished this book in the span of a day. Once I started and got into the story, I couldn’t stop. This book is marketed to make you think it is like a circus, carnival type performance, but I didn’t get that feeling. I got more of a mystery game type feel to it, but that could just be me and my awkward interpretations of things.

I didn’t particularly care for Scarlett. To me she came off as whiny and weak, although early on in the book another character describes her as strong.

Despite my dislike for Scarlett, I really enjoyed this story. It keeps you guessing right up until the final pages. I have recently learned that there is going to be a second book and I can’t wait until it comes out.

Leave a Reply

